NIRSA HOME National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association    
 December 2007/January 2008 • NIRSA news and information
Front Page Membership Education Conference & Expo Sports Foundation Leadership Research Sustainability Risk Mgmt Legal Q&A


NIRSA National Flag Football Championships set to begin in Dallas

The elite meet to compete January 3-5

The nation's best collegiate flag football teams will make their way to Dallas, Texas for the NIRSA National Flag Football Championships hosted by The University of Texas at Dallas January 3-5, 2008. The second annual event will feature the top flag football teams, including regional winners and state champions, competing in one of three divisions: men's, women's, and co-rec. The NIRSA National Flag Football Championships are part of the National Campus Championship Series (NCCS).

With 10 fields, UTD can host up to 100 teams for the championships. The tournament is open to all teams that meet the eligibility requirements. Tournament information, including entry forms, lodging, and transportation, is available on the UTD website.

"Everyone at UTD is excited to be hosting the NIRSA National Flag Football Championships once again," said UTD Recreational Sports Director and Tournament Director Tricia Losavio. "We are looking forward to a great tournament, and can't wait for everyone to join us in Dallas."

The tournament will also feature some of the best young upcoming officials, as the top four officials were selected from each NIRSA Regional Championships to officiate at nationals. Most of the NIRSA Regional winners will be in Dallas vying for a national championship. View a complete listing of all NIRSA Regional Flag Football Championship results on the NIRSA website

"There are many people that perpetuate the success of our NCCS events, and I am thankful for all of them," said NCCS Committee Chair Dan Hazlett. "I'd like to congratulate the regional winners and wish them, and all other teams, along with our student officials, success at the 2008 NIRSA National Flag Football Championships. I look forward to seeing them in Dallas."

The University of Texas-Pan American (men's), Sam Houston State University (women's), and the University of West Florida (co-rec) snagged national titles in last year's championships.

NIRSA Know is a service of the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association
NIRSA National Center: 4185 SW Research Way, Corvallis, Oregon 97333-1067
tel: 541-766-8211 • fax: 541-766-8284 • email:
Copyright ©2007 National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association
Archives | Search | Contact Us