NIRSA HOME National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association    
 September 2006 • NIRSA news and information
Front Page Membership Education Conference & Expo Sports Foundation Leadership Notes Research


National Flag Football Championships update

Part of the National Campus Championship Series

The NIRSA National Flag Football Championships will take place January 4-7, 2007 at the University of Texas at Dallas. The NIRSA Services Corporation (NSC), with the endorsement and support of the NIRSA Board of Directors, has put forth great efforts to establish a national flag football tournament as part of the National Campus Championship Series. Based on recommendations made by the NIRSA National Campus Championship Series Committee, the NSC Board of Directors approved the January 2007 date and UT Dallas as the championship site.

For the first time since 1999, NIRSA will have a regional flag football championship in all eight extramural regions. The regional site hosts are Arizona State University, Cornell University, Southeast Missouri State University, The Ohio State University, University of Maryland, University of Southern Mississippi, and Washington State University. A regional host from the state of Texas will be determined soon so that all eight regions will be represented. The winner and runner-up of each regional championship qualify to compete at the NIRSA National Flag Football Championships. There will also be some open spots available for other teams to attend.

NIRSA Know is a service of the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association
NIRSA National Center: 4185 SW Research Way, Corvallis, Oregon 97333-1067
tel: 541-766-8211 • fax: 541-766-8284 • email:
Copyright ©2007 National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association
Archives | Search | Contact Us